Dark Folly

I found you in the middle of chaos,

Hidden behind a sparkling veil of gloom,

You stirred my tinted glass soul,

An enigma I’d never before known.

Your gaze,  a melodious requiem,

Coldly cryptic, unlike a Sunday hymn.

I thwarted my butterfly coloured senses,

And sped towards your cindery heart,

Knew all too well that I would lie,

Beneath the worm eaten earth, when you part.

You beckoned me like an evil temptation,

I was too dazed to halt,

Suspended my noisy rationale,

I was morbidly enthralled.

Time stopped in our darkened orb,

Our roses paler than bloodied thorns,

I gave in and called it love,

Adorned with desire your world forlorn-

Or so I felt.

Because the cold, dark night of our certitude,

Lay in the open all along,

Mocking at illusions of delight-

To you, I never belonged. 

You gouged out my spirit and,

Drops of life leaked away…

But delusions never fail me.

So I pledge to find another way-

To you.

2 thoughts on “Dark Folly

  1. Cynthia Phipps May 18, 2017 / 12:47 pm

    Is that a red lipstick added to your media? Well done! It really complements the poem.

    Like

    • Aaratrika May 18, 2017 / 1:04 pm

      It’s my painting. Colours Dripping off butterfly wings. But a lipstick would have been nice, too! Thank you:)

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

